top of page
  • ccc-centered

Station 2 - Jesus Accepts the Cross

Updated: Mar 5, 2021

Artwork by Kristen Cianna (Instagram @kristencianna). Oil painting on 16" x 20" canvas.

Spoken word poem by Kaley Rodda


We are glad you made it to the website for Centennial Covenant’s Church’s podcast, Centered. This podcast was created by Karl Helvig, David Dillon, and Kaley Rodda, but with the help of many other wonderful people. The content below is meant to be a guide for practicing the prayer known as, The Stations of the Cross. You can use this website on its own without the audio (and, we would like to note that we designed this particularly with our friends in the D/HH community in mind), or you can use this website while also listening to the audio to create a more immersive experience.


Before reflecting on and responding to the artwork for today’s Station of the Cross, take a moment now to pause. We’d encourage you to move slowly through each part of this exercise, beginning with the breaths you are about to take.


Take two or three deep breaths.

Breathe.

Breathe

Breathe.


Notice your physical body. Are you carrying tension anywhere? Are you uncomfortable anywhere in your posture. Give yourself a moment to relax. Let your mind be still.


As you continue to breathe naturally and sit comfortably, read these words from John 19:16-17.


Finally Pilate handed him over to them to be crucified. So the soldiers took charge of Jesus. Carrying his own cross, he went out to the place of the Skull (which in Aramaic is called Golgotha).


When you feel ready, scroll down the page to the artwork. You will be guided through a reflection on today’s Station of the cross.




First, take one minute to simply sit with the image and take in all its details.


For the next three questions, take your time in processing or responding to each. Let this be a leisurely practice. There is no rush. There is benefit to creating space for reflection and prayer.


  • Is there a particular part of the art that captures your attention? If so, let your attention linger there. Take it in all the more.


  • As you continue engaging with this art, does it stir up any emotions in you? Take some time to sit with those emotions. Offer them in prayer to God.


  • Either by speaking out loud or in writing, capture your responses to this Station of the Cross. Note any observations you have about why certain aspects of the art stood out to you or why you felt the emotions you did.


After giving yourself ample time for reflection. Read one more time the words of John 19, which inspired this image.


Finally Pilate handed him over to them to be crucified. So the soldiers took charge of Jesus. Carrying his own cross, he went out to the place of the Skull (which in Aramaic is called Golgotha).


Does anything from this passage strike you in a new way after reflecting on the artwork?



Carrying his own cross

by Kaley Rodda


A cross.

Just 2 planks of wood, and the kiss of death for an innocent man.

Targeted, condemned.


Sometimes I think I carry my own cross.

Alone.

Burdened.

Destined and afraid.

But that’s just it- I’m not alone.

I’ve never been alone.

No matter how deep the sorrow or heavy the heart,

I am not alone.


Alone is a twisted feeling.

Like splinters in your back

Or the weight of a whole generation on your shoulders

It eats pride and ego

As it scratches at the corners of the heart you once had.

Sometimes I choose to be alone.

I choose so that I’m not a burden.

But here’s the thing- I was a burden.

I am a burden.

I am the weight of that cross and the steps taken with it.

I am the rocks underfoot, begging to be stumbled upon.

I am the splinters, the generations crying out to be saved.


But I am claimed.

Despite the burden I am, I am claimed as his.


“Carrying his own

A blameless man carrying the weight of me.

He chose me.

With my struggles, my ignorance, my limitations.

Beyond the cost- the ultimate cost.

He. Chose. Me.


The grace, the forgiveness, the sacrifice.

What if instead, I chose to be a burden.

Allowing myself to be held.

Stepping outside the confines of my fear to be

Loved.

Seen.

Chosen.


I no longer run from my weight, for I can never fully understand the cost if I do.

And if you’re feeling alone, or hurting like me, hear this:

You are chosen.

You have been chosen.

Before you thought you were a burden,

Before you were told you and your hurts were too much.

You’re never not worthy, or too far gone,

You’ve been carried.


On the shoulders of someone a lot stronger than you.

You are “his own”

And he chose to carry you, walk with you, suffer with you.

For you.

You are free.

Your burdens are no longer just yours.

You are “his own”.




Take a final minute of silence and, when you are ready, conclude your time with this simple prayer:

Jesus, you made this journey for me. Amen.



168 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page